Can a set be member of itself?

In summary, a set can be member of itself in the naive set theory. This is the common sense. However, in axiomatic set theory, sets are defined by their properties (and apply to anything with those properties).ZF -FA +some form of anti-foundation axiom is consistent if ZF is. So there is no sense in which non-well-founded sets don't "exist". Read Peter Aczel's "Non-Well-Founded Sets" for more info.
traldi
Sorry if I write something stupid, but I am just a student. I really want to understand why the rejection of Cantor´s Set Theory.

Considering the Cantor´s set concept, can a set be member of itself?

Although I suppose that the answer is yes, my intuition answer no, it can´t!

"A set is a collection into whole of definite, distinct objects of our intuition or our thought. The objects are called the elements of the set."

The elements of a Set have to be definite to Set exists.
When I imagine a Set as a element of itself, it have to be definite to my intuition. This Set is not definite to my intuition, cause I need first imagine his definite elements. It never ends! Thats why a set can't be member of itself.

Would someone explain where my affirmation is wrong? thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Consider, is this a question of intuition or how set theory is usually defined? And the further question why set theory is so defined, is something you and I have not gone into.

Consider the Axiom of the Empty Set and the Axiom of the Power Set.

Also, take the matter of whether a number N is considered a divisor of itself.

Your question reminds me of paradox[/url]

Last edited by a moderator:
Zermelo-Frankel set theory does not allow such sets due to the Axiom of Foundation/Regularity. There are non well-founded set theories, which typically replace the Axiom of Foundation with some statement that implies the negation of foundation. The Anti-Foundation Axiom comes to mind.

Perhaps the simplest example of a non well-founded set is