Cambridge Physics Problems: Electrostatics

In summary, the conversation is about a physics problem involving the use of the Superimposition principle and the binomial expansion to calculate electric fields and potentials due to a dipole. The difficulty of the question is discussed, and the conversation also touches on different education systems and ways of approaching the problem.
johnconnor
20120703_161147.jpg

Before I go about trying to futilly solve the question, is this thing beyond a CIE A-Lv physics student's reach or not? Any comments on the difficulty of the question, and perhaps the reading material which you would recommend before I attempt the question?

Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi johnconnor :smile:

I don't exactly know what level CIE A-Lv is, but I am a grade 12 student, and the problem looks quite simple to me. What about it do you not understand? The first part, for example, simply relates to the Superimposition principle

Infinitum said:
Hi johnconnor :smile:

I don't exactly know what level CIE A-Lv is, but I am a grade 12 student, and the problem looks quite simple to me. What about it do you not understand? The first part, for example, simply relates to the Superimposition principle

Well yeah I can kind of explain the first part too - albeit in a un-professional way. But for the remaining parts, I was like WTH coz I've never dealt with electrostatic questions of this length.

The guide says: