Cambridge Part III: American Math Undergrad Seeking Advice

In summary: I don't know anyone who got it.In summary, the conversation revolves around an American math undergrad who has been accepted to the Cambridge Part III course and is uncertain about their abilities. They are curious about the academic background and mathematical ability needed to do well in the course, as well as the availability of scholarships. Others in the conversation offer reassurance that the student's acceptance indicates a good chance of success and share their experiences with the course. There may be some scholarships available, but they are difficult to obtain.
rbc
Hi everyone,

I'm an American math undergrad, hoping to eventually become a professor. I was accepted to the Cambridge Part III course, and it looks like it would be fun in terms of the wide selection of classes and meeting other math students.

However, I'm a little uncertain of my abilities. I know that as an American student, our college education has more "general education" and is less focused on purely math. I go to a small university, so I don't really know how I measure up compared to other American students, much less other students from around the world.

Does acceptance to the course indicate a good chance of passing or is it actually fairly easy to get in? Are there other mathematicians out there who went to college in the US and could tell me what kind of a background and mathematical ability are needed to do well in the course?

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
I know physics ugrads who take it so I wouldn't worry too much about your level of knowledge - but expect to work hard.

Good luck

rbc said:
Hi everyone,

I'm an American math undergrad, hoping to eventually become a professor.
Good luck with that.
:biggrin:

rbc said:
Hi everyone,