Calculate the solar energy incident on a reflecting surface in one second

In summary, the solar cooker reflects only 76% of the energy that is incident on the curved surface towards the pot.
Richie Smash

Homework Statement

First I will say, I know I post here alot, but that is because I have exams coming up soon and I am a beginner, and It's crunch time, I'm self taught with only the help of friends and the internet. I'm currently doing a past examination as practice, but this one is much harder than the ones I've done before, and from every single post I've placed here, I have learned, I like how the helpers only give hints.

Ok without any further ado here is the question.

''A solar cooker focuses sunlight onto a pot containing food. The area of the reflecting surface is 0.75m2 and the solar power incident on it is 800Wm-2. Only 76% of the energy incident on the curved surface is reflected towards the pot.

Calculate:(i) The energy arriving at the curved surface each second.
(ii) the total energy reflected towards the pot in one hour

Homework Equations

KE=1/2*m*v2
W=J/S

The Attempt at a Solution

I would try to solve it but the problem is I don't have a time...
I'm thinking that ok the solar radiation is coming to the reflecting surface at 3.0*108m/s but... That's all I have, I'm unfamiliar with this Watt per metre squared.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
A Watt is a Joule/second. 1 Watt/m2 means that if you take a square that is 1 m on the side, then every second that goes by, one Joule worth of energy is incident on the surface. Here you are given the surface. In (i) you are asked to find how much energy hits the surface in one second. Do you think you can answer that?

Ok I'm following a bit, that means in this question in one second 800 joules will hit a square 1m on the side.

But the area here is 0.75m2
So what I have to do is, 800 *0.75 and I will get 600Joules?