Calculate an acceleratin in a racing (drag) application

In summary: Now I can be happy about the new titanium rods in my back without worrying about where they came from.In summary, the conversation revolved around calculating acceleration and determining top speeds in a racing application. The method discussed involved using distance and time to find average speed, and then using that to calculate speed at different points in the race. The concept of an acceleration curve was also mentioned, which could be affected by factors such as friction and shift points. The conversation ended with a joke about medical implants.
fastdude
I am trying to calculate an acceleratin in a racing (drag)application. I am an engineer at a medical implant manufacturing company so i know a bit about calulations but it has been a while for most (computers,,) Here is the scenario, we race from 150' to 300'. the quickest time determines the winner. I would like to know what type of speeds are achieved. an example would be 180 foot track with a time of 3.3 seconds from a dead stop. In most cases, the acceleration curve would continue past the 200 or 300ft if it would be continued. do you have any suggestions?

Physics news on Phys.org
You can find the average speed by simply taking Distance/time. In your example, 180 ft/3.3 seconds = 54.5 f/s = 37.2 mph. Assuming you accelerated uniformly from 0, your speed at the 180 ft mark would be twice your average speed = 74.4 mph.

Hopefully some knowledgeable racing fan might be able to give you more practical advice about determining top speed in a real race.

erm i was thinking maybe if you knew the relation between the acceleration and time, then you could integrate and plot out the graph for the velocity.

fastdude said:
In most cases, the acceleration curve would continue past the 200 or 300ft if it would be continued.