Building a strong prep for late highschool early college.

In summary, the conversation is discussing the best classes to take in high school to prepare for a future in physics and college. It is recommended to take rigorous versions of math and science, such as calculus, and to do well in English classes for strong communication skills. It is also mentioned that taking math classes at a community or local college could be beneficial.
Atom1
Howdy guys. I just got done my freshman year in high school with a 3.85 gpa, I am wondering what would be a good "set" of classes to take as I progress in high school to build a backround in physics, and as a small prep for college. I have been told by others that it is good to get as high as you can in both math and science. As a freshman I took geometry and trig as far as math goes, and in science I took chemistry and a very easy version on physics.

Physics news on Phys.org
You're doing well. Aim for taking a semester of calculus. At the rate you are doing, you can take another semester or two if you'd like. Whether you want to depends if you'd like to take rigorous versions in college (such as an honour's class). Make sure to do well in your English classes as well. Being able to communicate well becomes very useful later.

If you've already taken geometry and trig, you're off to a good start. Precalculus and calculus would be good, as Mmm_Pasta said. You might even be able to take some math classes at a community or local college if you get through all your high school math classes. I had a math major friend who'd gotten through linear algebra before she started college.

Related to Building a strong prep for late highschool early college.

1. How can I improve my study skills for late high school and early college?