Bondi ##k##-factor concept from first principles

• I
  • Thread starter Shirish
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Concept
In summary, the section on Bondi's ##k##-factor in Core Principles of Special and General Relativity by Luscombe discusses the time separation between two events in different frames of reference, and the claim is that the separation in one frame is proportional to the separation in the other frame with a constant ##k## as the proportionality factor. The author provides an image to help explain the concept and the reader is asked to verify the derivation of this claim. The reader then outlines their approach to verifying the claim, using a general linear formula for coordinate transformations and considering both time and space coordinates. They suggest using primed coordinates for the second frame and four events with two coordinates each. They also mention that the book may expect the reader
Shirish
I'm studying Core Principles of Special and General Relativity by Luscombe. In the section on Bondi's ##k##-factor, it says:

Let inertial observers ##A## and ##B## in relative motion carry identical clocks. ##A## sends two flashes of light to ##B##, a time ##T## apart. What time separation does ##B## measure? ... We know that worldlines of free particles are straight in IRFs, and that spacetime coordinates in different IRFs are related by a linear mapping. The time difference measured in B must therefore be proportional to ##T##, call it ##kT##.

1bjfo.png

I want to clarify if my derivation of the above claim is correct. The image on the left is what's included in the text and referred to by the above paragraph. I made the image on the right to understand what's going on with linear transformation of worldlines.