Biophysics/Physics Graduate School w/o Complex Analysis

In summary, the speaker is a student in their last semester of obtaining a physics degree. They are interested in biophysical research or energy research and are considering pursuing biophysics or straight physics programs for graduate school. However, they are faced with a scheduling conflict between Organic Chemistry 2 and Complex Analysis, and are concerned about how not taking Complex Analysis may affect their chances of getting into graduate school. They also mention having a minimal math background due to focusing on biology classes. They are seeking input on the importance of organic chemistry and complex analysis for biophysics and physics in terms of getting into graduate school, and whether it would be a significant disadvantage to not
zuukr
Hey y'all,
I'm in my last semester about to obtain my physics degree, and I am very interested in biophysical research or energy research. With that in mind I have my eyes set on biophysics programs and straight physics programs. The concern I have is that for my last semester I can only take Organic Chemistry 2 or Complex Analysis, because both courses hold the same time slot. I guess its all dependent on which path I decide to pursue, but I am curious to know if not taking Complex Analysis will hinder my chances at graduate school (regardless of research, good letters of rec, etc.). It is to my understanding that complex analysis is generally covered within the graduate level mathematical methods course. I would like to finish Orgo as it is generally a pre req for many biophysics programs. Another factor to consider though is that my math background is minimal (Calc 1,2,3 and ODE), mostly due to the fact that I replaced math classes with bio classes. I feel like I have a strong background in the sciences now, but my math is lacking. Would anyone have any input on the value of organic chemistry related to Biophysics and Complex Analysis to Physics in terms of ge