Bioinformatics vs software engineering

In summary, the conversation discusses the two specialties of software engineering and bioinformatics in the field of computer science. The speaker is seeking advice on which specialty to choose and the potential job options for each. They also mention the possibility of studying both specialties and the potential for pursuing a career in computational neuroscience. The conversation also references information from Wikipedia on the definition and research areas of bioinformatics. The conversation ends with the speaker deciding to pursue bioinformatics.
ABD EL HAMEED
Hello,
So today at my first day in my first year at computer science I saw those two specialties but I was confused which one to choose cause I can only choose one of them
I would like if anyone would offer me some help choosing also telling me which jobs will be available to each specialty
Thanks in advance

Physics news on Phys.org
Although I'm not an expert on this, it sounds like software engineering is more flexible, whereas Bioinformatics might focus on analyzing data/modeling/programming biological models or effects of creatures. Maybe you could head into Computational Neuroscience.
Not sure on this answer, so don't trust me! Also, Wikipedia is probably a good resource.

ModestyKing said:
Although I'm not an expert on this, it sounds like software engineering is more flexible, whereas Bioinformatics might focus on analyzing data/modeling/programming biological models or effects of creatures. Maybe you could head into Computational Neuroscience.
Not sure on this answer, so don't trust me! Also, Wikipedia is probably a good resource.

Thanks, did you mean by I may head to computational neuroscience if I study bioinformatics?
Also I'll still study regular comp sci stuff along with any of both specialties