Bicycle wheel on the North Pole

In summary, the conversation discusses the potential for a bicycle wheel to float off into space due to torque from the Earth and the wheel's spinning direction, as well as the concept of precession and the relationship between torques and forces. It is clarified that torques do not repel and there is no levitation effect, and any perceived levitation is due to the support force equaling the weight of the wheel. The conversation also considers the potential for untoward force on the bearings while holding the wheel horizontally.
petermarrick
Hi You'all, Newbie here so no calculus or polysyllabics on the first date please.

If I hold a bicycle wheel horizontally and spin it at the north pole, the torque from the Earth spinning and the torque from the bicycle wheel are along the same axis.

Does this mean the wheel could float off into space if the torques repel, that is if my wheel spins in the opposite direction to the Earth which is spinning west to east?

Obviously not but how do the 2 torques from the right hand rule interact based on the wheel spinning east - west or west east? Would the weight of the wheel vary up or down depending on which way it was spinning? Does the Earth actually precess northwards a microscopic amount every year? Is my wheel likely to precess under the torque of the moon or the sun?

If I had the same wheel at a location 45° longitude, would I have to spin it so the axle faced north south and the wheel inclined 45° to the horizontal to achieve the same result?

Is there likely to be a 'sweet spot' less than or greater than 45° where the angular momentum keeping the wheel in place is able to counteract the forces of gravity pulling it downwards as with a spinning top?

An answer to any of these questions or a pointer to a good book on the subject is appreciated!

Physics news on Phys.org