Best Vibration Books for Asian Mechanical Engineering Students

In summary, the conversation was about a student seeking advice on which vibration books would be best for an undergraduate Mechanical Engineering student in Jakarta, Indonesia. Some suggestions were given, including the Thomson book which was not highly recommended, and the recommendation to review Dynamics first if struggling with the subject material. The Tse book was also suggested as a good option.
rudi_arman
Hi everyone,

I am an undergraduate student of Mechanical Engineering in Jakarta, Indonesia.

I’ve found all of these Vibration books in my library:

Vibration for Engineers, 2nd Ed.
by Andrew Dimaragonas
Prentice Hall

An Introduction to Mechanical Vibrations, 3rd Ed.
by Robert F. Steidel
John-Wiley

Vibration Problems in Engineering, 5th Ed.
by W. Weaver, Jr., S. P. Timoshenko, D. H. Young
John-Wiley & Sons, 1990

Mechanical Vibrations - Theory and Application to Structural Dynamics, 2nd Ed.
by M. Géradin, D. Rixen
John-Wiley, 1997

Principles and Techniques of Vibrations
by Leonard Meirovitch
Prentice Hall, 1997

Theory of Vibration with Applications, 5th Ed.
by William T. Thomson, Marie Dillon Dahleh
Prentice Hall, 1997

Can anyone here, especially a same as Mechanical Engineering student, give me any advices and suggests regarding all of above Vibration books in which best to learn for Asian student like me?

Please send me your valuable suggestion

Thank you

Engineering news on Phys.org
I've had the Thomson book for a Mechanical Vibrations class and felt it was next to useless. The feeling was shared by my classmates. It is a very comprehensive textbook, but written more for someone who is reviewing the concept rather than learning it the first time.

If you're in an undergraduate course in Vibrations the best book for you to go through is a Dynamics textbook. You might be amazed how much that review can help with the subject material.