Best UK Universities for Physics & Engineering

In summary, the best universities in the UK for physics and mechatronic engineering (aside from Cambridge and Oxford) are Durham University and Imperial College London. According to the Times Online ranking guide, the top 10 universities for physics in the UK are: 1) Cambridge, 2) Glasgow, 3) Oxford, 4) Durham, 5) Imperial College, 6) Sheffield, 7) Birmingham, 8) St Andrews, 9) Southampton, and 10) Aberdeen. The guide also mentions that Imperial College is highly regarded for mechanical engineering.
dr_nic
Best UK universities?

I'm planning to go on a student exchange to a UK university next year. I'm studying physics and engineering at the moment but the focus of my exchange will be for physics.

I was wondering what are the best universities to go to in the UK for 3rd year physics (and mechatronic engineering) aside from Cambridge/Oxford?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Durham University and Imperial College London are very good for physics. Imperial is amazing for Mech. Eng. arguably as good if not better than Cambridge. Not sure if that includes Mechatronics though. I'd say go to Imperial if you can't get into Cambridge and perhaps even if you get a place at Oxford.

And yes check the guide cygni suggested. Its the best one around I believe.

Thanks for the suggestions, I will check the guide.

1 Cambridge 3.3 559 86% 85% 100
2 Glasgow 3 403 85% 86% 94.9
3 Oxford 2.8 551 79% 86% 94.6
4 Durham 3 528 84% 77% 94.1
5 Imperial College 3 523 78% 84% 93.9
6 Sheffield 3 392 87% 81% 93.5
7 Birmingham 2.9 458 88% 74% 93.3
8 St Andrews 3.3 483 79% 79% 92.9
9 Southampton 2.7 452 85% 80% 92.1
10 Aberdeen

This is the top ten for physics in the UK according to the times online ranking guide.

Surprised to see Glasgow as number 2. Allways assumed Oxford would be number 2.

Last edited:

Related to Best UK Universities for Physics & Engineering