Best path for a switch to Computer Science?

In summary, the individual has a BS in Mechanical Engineering but has developed a strong interest in Computer Science. They are considering a career change but are unsure of the best path to take. They are currently considering a post baccalaureate certificate program from NC State, which covers all the necessary courses for a career change or graduate school admission. They are seeking advice on whether to pursue formal education or self-study, as well as the quality of NC State's CS program in relation to graduate school admission. Ultimately, the individual is interested in gaining both domain-specific and non-domain knowledge in order to become a successful programmer.
respect_the_S
I have a BS in Mechanical Engineering and I've been out of school for almost 5 years. Several months back I started learning Java just for kicks, but I've reached a point where I'm pursuing more and more knowledge of CS concepts on my own, and the interested level is far exceeding that of MechE.

I'm heavily considering a slight shift in career paths towards CS, but I'm not sure how to go about it. At this point, the choices seem to be either get formal education on the prereq material and then go for the MS, or do some rigorous self study, get involved in an OS project, and just find a new job doing what I want to do.

The problem with the latter is that, from what I've read, it sounds like that may work for programming/web development jobs, but I'm not sure I want to do that forever. I don't want to cut myself short on education and then miss out on opportunities for interesting positions that require formal education. I also like the structure of formal education, and that assignments push you to solve certain problems you may tend to brush over in self study.