Best Book for learning Algebra 2

In summary, a freshman in high school wants to learn Algebra II and may want to eventually learn calculus. He or she is considering using Algebra and Trigonometry by Foerster, The Art of Problem Solving books, or Elements of Algebra, all of which have favorable reviews.
Tyler133
I am a freshman in high school I would like to major on physics and most likely in mathematics in college so I figured it would be worthwhile to start learning more math. In school I am currently learning geometry and next year my class will cover Algebra II. I was wondering what would be the best book for me to learn and hopefully master Algebra II. I have heard of Gelfand's book, Algebra. Would that give me a complete understanding of Algebra II or would I need an actually Algebra II textbook for understanding Algebra II, if so what would be the best textbook. I would also like to keep the price of the book to around 20 dollars or less.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
I like the Algebra series by Lial/Hornsby/McGinnis. These are textbooks for remedial math students in college, but they have been used by homeschooled students. The book that corresponds to Algebra 2 is called Intermediate Algebra. The latest edition in paperback is the 10th edition; do not get this. Instead, find an earlier edition for cheap. Here is a link for the 8th edition at Amazon. Note that Intermediate Algebra does not include linear systems, matrices, or trig. The authors cover those topics in their Precalculus book.

Another book that is popular for homeschooled students is Algebra and Trigonometry by Foerster. This book does include linear systems, matrices, and some trig. The book is out of date in that there is no correlation with graphing calculators, but that may be a good thing. At the moment the cheapest copy at "www.amazon.com/dp/0131657100"[/URL] is a little under $30.

Last edited by a moderator: