Basic Theory of Field Extensions - Exercise from D&F ....

In summary: Eisenstein and where ##... = ( \theta^2 - \theta +10)##In summary, the solution to Exercise 1 is to use Eisenstein's criterion with the prime p = 3 to show that ##p(x) = x^3 + 9x + 6## is irreducible. Then, in the calculation, we use ##p(x)## being irreducible to show that ##( \theta + 1)^{-1} = \frac{ ( \theta^2 - \theta +10) }{4}##.
Math Amateur
Gold Member
MHB

Homework Statement

I am reading Dummit and Foote, Chapter 13 - Field Theory.

I am currently studying Section 13.1 : Basic Theory of Field Extensions

I need some help with an aspect of Exercise 1 ... ...

Exercise 1 reads as follows:

?temp_hash=5c11a9fc6c5daa0da97974cebc72da82.png

Homework Equations

Relevant theorems for this exercise seem to be Theorems 4 and 6 of Section 13.1.

Theorem 4 reads as follows:

Theorem 6 reads as follows:

The Attempt at a Solution

##p(x) = x^2 + 9x + 6## is irreducible by Eisenstein ... ...

Now consider ##(x^2 + 9x + 10) = (x + 1) ( x^2 - x + 10)##

and note that ##(x^2 + 9x + 10) = (x^2 + 9x + 6) + 4## ... ...Now ##\theta## is a root of ##(x^2 + 9x + 6)## so that ...

##( \theta + 1) ( \theta^2 - \theta +10) = ( \theta^2 + 9 \theta + 6) + 4 = 0 +4 = 4##

Thus ##( \theta + 1)^{-1} = \frac{ ( \theta^2 - \theta +10) }{4}## ... ...

Is that correct?... BUT ... if it is correct I am most unsure of exactly where in the calculation we depend on ##p(x)## being irreducible ...

Can someone please explain where exactly in the above calculation we depend on ##p(x)## being irreducible?

Note that I am vaguely aware that we are calculating in ##\mathbb{Q} ( \theta )## ... which is isomorphic to ##\mathbb{Q} [x] / ( p(x) )## ... if ##p(x)## is irreducible ...

... BUT ...