Basic question about Scattering and understanding colors

In summary: Some visible light hitting the object is absorbed (and re-radiated as head - which you cannot see).The rest of the visible light is scattered ... the diffuse colour, what you are used to thinking of as the colour of the object, is the result of those wavelengths that get scattered off the surface.
Remixex
So I'm studying scattering and size parameters now, I've come to understand that the sky is blue because the size parameter is such that it's an excellent "scatterer" of blue-violet visible light, and horrible at red-orange, that let's pass, and such the sun is yellow within the Earth.
I've also come to understand why clouds are white, the parameter is such that it scatters all 7 discrete wavelengths of visible light, and by combining them it forms white.
But this generated a really basic, naive and almost innocent question in my head, how on Earth do big solid objects color work? My pen is huge, but it's blue, it's not because it's particles are small enough that it scatters blue better right?
I can't avoid feeling extremely stupid by asking this but i need to know, if color of really small particles is given by it's size, how come we have differently colored huge objects? Following the cloud's logic, shouldn't everything be white?

Science news on Phys.org
Solids get their colour from their molecular structure.
Some visible light hitting the object is absorbed (and re-radiated as head - which you cannot see).
The rest of the visible light is scattered ... the diffuse colour, what you are used to thinking of as the colour of the object, is the result of thaose wavelengths that get scattered off the surface.

But you are correct, there is more to colour than the simple model you have.

Likes Remixex
Remixex said:
My pen is huge, but it's blue, it's not because it's particles are small enough that it scatters blue better right?