Basic Calculus Questions - polar integration and roots

In summary, the speaker is seeking help with two problems in calculus - one involving finding the antiderivative of a function, and the other involving finding the zeroes of a function. They have a review sheet but are still struggling and are looking for additional resources or guidance. They have tried solving the problems algebraically but are wondering if there is a different approach using calculus. They also mention that they have stopped working on the problems for the time being.
perihelion
It's been a while since I studied calculus and basically I have a review sheet for a course I'm taking, but not a graded assignment. So, I was hoping if anyone knew a resource to point me in the right direction with a couple of problems:

[tex]
\int_0^\theta x^a dx
[/tex]

Where a is not an element of the set {0, -1} and theta > 0. I'm going over my old calculus text but still at a loss as to how to set this problem up, but maybe I'm making it more difficult than it is.

Also, I had a question involving finding real values of x such that a given function is 0, and justifying my answer. I just did this algebraically, but was wondering if there was another way that I've forgotten using calculus:

[tex]
f(x) = x^2\ +\ 2*x\ +\ 2
[/tex]
[tex]
(x+1)*(x+1)+1 = 0
[/tex]
[tex]
(x+1)^2 = -1
[/tex]
[tex]
x = -1 - i, -1 + i
[/tex]

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Mark44 said:
The antiderivative of xa is 1/(a + 1) xa + 1.

Thanks, but I was feeling that maybe I was overlooking something. At this point I just stopped.

[tex]

\int_0^\theta x^a dx\ =\ (\theta^(a+1))/(a\ +\ 1)

[/tex]

perihelion said:
Thanks, but I was feeling that maybe I was overlooking something. At this point I just stopped.

[tex]

\int_0^\theta x^a dx\ =\ (\theta^(a+1))/(a\ +\ 1)

[/tex]
I think you meant this as [itex]\theta^{a + 1}/(a + 1)[/itex]
but it didn't quite come out that way.