Bad rear axle shocks very common?

• Thread starter DaveC426913
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Axle
In summary, some believe that there is an epidemic of cars with rear wheel bowed out, due to weak shocks or worn springs. The wheel alignment adjustment can help to keep the wheels parallel and prevent the car from pulling or pushing in the opposite direction.
DaveC426913
Gold Member
Some point a while ago while driving I noticed a car whose rear wheels were noticeably bowed outward, thus:
LJ20081224_wheels.gif

Now, wherever I go I notice cars like this. Always the rear wheels, never the front. It seems to be very common.

Is this due to bad shocks? Is there an epidemic?

Physics news on Phys.org
I never noticed that. Could it be because the car's rear is overloaded?
P.S. I am a total car noob

Last edited:
Four Wheel Alignment is necessary on today's design vehicles, yet it remains a mystery to most people. Correct Alignment and a properly operating suspension are vital to vehicle control, not only for safety but also for comfort when driving a vehicle. There is a possibility of incorrect rear wheel thrust line, which can cause the vehicle to pull or push in the opposite direction the wheels are pointing...
http://peugeot.mainspot.net/tips/four_wheel.shtml

In its most basic form, a wheel alignment consists of adjusting the angles of the wheels so that they are perpendicular to the ground and parallel to each other. The purpose of these adjustments is maximum tire life and a vehicle that tracks straight and true when driving along a straight and level road...
http://www.familycar.com/alignment.htm

Last edited by a moderator:
DaveC426913 said:
Some point a while ago while driving I noticed a car whose rear wheels were noticeably bowed outward, thus:
LJ20081224_wheels.gif

Now, wherever I go I notice cars like this. Always the rear wheels, never the front. It seems to be very common.

Is this due to bad shocks? Is there an epidemic?