Axiomatic Systems & Modern Physics

In summary: Are other different axiomatic systems used for QM & GR?I mean, as I'm currently a high school student, all theorems I've learned are proved by the same set of axioms.I wonder if another applicable axiomatic system is used for non-classical physics. There are a few different systems that are used for different types of physics, but I'm not familiar with all of them.
Atran
Hi, I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this.
Are other different axiomatic systems used for QM & GR?
I mean, as I'm currently a high school student, all theorems I've learned are proved by the same set of axioms.
I wonder if another applicable axiomatic system is used for non-classical physics.

Thanks for any valuable answer...

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
QM and GR are inconsistent with each other, so presumably they couldn't start with the same axioms.

Bit of advice from a mathematician: Don't treat physics like mathematics. Ultimately physics depends on the real world, while mathematics comes from a consistent set of axioms.

Solid advice. A good theory will be mathematically consistent with itself, but its postulates still come from observation.

mathman said:
Bit of advice from a mathematician: Don't treat physics like mathematics. Ultimately physics depends on the real world, while mathematics comes from a consistent set of axioms.
K^2 said:
Solid advice. A good theory will be mathematically consistent with itself, but its postulates still come from observation.
I know that, for every axiomatic system, there is a logical framework.
We describe reality logically and therefore we are continuously seeking for an axiomatic system which with more accuracy applies to our reality.
If Gödel's incompleteness theorem is true, then is it possible to achieve a complete physics theory?
What if an observed phenomena could be explained by two different sets of axioms, and if so, which one would you recommend?

Last edited: