Astronomy/Astrophysics Gap Year/5th year of Undergrad

In summary, the person is a senior undergraduate majoring in Astronomy and Astrophysics at Villanova University. They are considering taking a gap year or a fifth year of undergraduate to get a double major in both astrophysics and regular physics. They are open to various fields in Astronomy and Physics, particularly Cosmology or Neutrino Astronomy. They are seeking advice on whether a gap year would be beneficial for studying for the GRE and working in a research position, or if it would be better to go straight to graduate school. They also mention the importance of having senior undergraduate courses in E&M and quantum mechanics before entering graduate school.
ljones15
Hello there,

I am currently a senior undergraduate Astronomy and Astrophysics major at Villanova University. With the GRE and graduate school applications coming up I have been wondering if it would be beneficial for me to either take a gap year or to possibly take a 5th year of undergraduate so I can get a double major in both astrophysics and regular physics (couldn't be done in four years because of Chemistry requirements).

While I do see the pros and cons of the three possible options (go straight to grad school, take a gap year, or stay a 5th year for the double major) and I have read forums on subjects similar to this one I was just wondering if someone has any insight on my specific situation. If I were to take a gap year though, that time would be spent studying for the GREs and hopefully working in a research driven position applicable to what I want to do in grad school, i.e. such as working for one of my current professors (just to note I am already published).