Asking Questions During Office Hours - Prof or TA?

• Thread starter erok81
  • Start date
In summary, the speaker is a 3rd year student who has never asked a professor for help outside of class and has never seen a professor's office. They are struggling with problems involving Taylor series and are unsure of who to ask for help, the TA or the professor. They are worried about embarrassing themselves in front of the professor and have no friends at the school yet. Other students suggest starting with the TA for help.
erok81
I am currently a 3rd year student that has made it this far without ever asking a professor for help outside of class during their office hours (thanks PF). In fact, I've never even seen a professor's office. I know that isn't a good thing. :redface:

I've come to a point where if I don't find this out, I am going to be screwed. I cannot to problems involving taylor series for the life of me. I learned in calc II where we were given a formula and had to solve them. This was pretty much pointless. Now I have all sorts of problems where I have to taylor expand things when certain variables reach certain values etc.

The class in question is a special relativity class/intro to quantum mechanics. So learning taylor series is something that should have been done a while ago.

Who is the better person to bother with this question; the TA or the prof? Since it is such a basic question that I should know, I'm not sure if I want to embarass myself in front of the prof asking my questions.

What do you think? Any advice?

Physics news on Phys.org
It depends on the school. I went to a smaller physics program, and the Profs (at least most of them) were always glad to meet students and help them out. I would ask other students from the school, and see how this professor responds to students.

If you have never seen a professor's office AND you don't know other students, then I got nothing. Flip a coin? :-p