Are There Integrals That Are Easier to Solve Numerically Than Analytically?

In summary: \int_{0}^{1} f \sin \left( \frac{1}{x} \right)dxgives an improper integral, since the function f has a discontinuity at x=0.
loupblanc
There isn't an applied mathematics thread so i'll post this here.

I'm an undergraduate and I have a presentation for my numerical methods/matlab class . I'm looking for examples of
1)Integrals which are easier/faster to integrate numerically than do evaluate using their antiderivatives. (power series etc)
2)Integrals whose antiderivatives are not elementary functions on a bounded interval without ''smoothness'' problems on bounds, and if possible with a known integral value.

Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
... correct me if I'm wrong, but aren't most integrals easier to evaluate numerically? Being able to find an antiderivative for a general function is supposed to be tricky.

I mean, but a fraction bar in there, add some exponentiation to algebraic functions of x, throw in some discontinuous functions and you should be good to go. As an example,...

[x^2e^sqrt(x+sin(x))]/(sinh x + cos x + x^x)

If that has an elementary function as its antiderivative, I'm retiring.

Or are you asking for useful examples?

Sorry, i wasn't clear.

By easier i meant that MATLAB would take less time/ computer memory to evaluate the integral using a numerical integration method ( Simpson, Romberg, etc) than evaluating the antiderative itself which is usually quite complicated ( expressed using power series, etc). I've read about this in articles but I've never seen an example.

Yeah, I'm looking for useful examples; like we know that integral of exp(-x^2) from -infinity to +infinity is root of phi, so i was wondering if there were integrals without antiderivatives like this on a bounded interval so that i could evaluate it using of the numerical integration methods for a presentation.

loupblanc said: