Applying for PhD - papers needed?

• Admissions
  • Thread starter IttyBittyBit
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Papers Phd
In summary: I think it would be a good idea to submit a conference paper instead of a thesis though, just to be on the safe side.Yes.
IttyBittyBit
I have a bachelor's in math and I'm doing a graduate diploma in engineering science (just a year of advanced coursework, similar to the first year of a master's degree) at the university of Auckland. My grades are pretty good (I got straight A's last semester, and I hope to get just a well this semester), so I'm thinking of applying for a PhD in engineering - preferably software engineering - but I heard that you need to have had some research papers under your belt. So I'm a bit intimidated. I have done plenty of research, but none of it has resulting in papers. I could have submitted a conference paper perhaps, but at the time I didn't think it was worth it.
So guys, based on your personal experience, would a professor be willing to work with someone with exactly 0 research papers so far?

Physics news on Phys.org
Yes.

This "you must be published" is a myth.

I've uploaded a file, it is a talk given by Mor Harchol-Balter, School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University. You will find the whole stuff very useful. Regarding your question, you will find it's answer in section 3.4 of this document!

Attachments

• Grad School Talk.pdf
    102.6 KB · Views: 289
doodle_sack said:
I've uploaded a file, it is a talk given by Mor Harchol-Balter, School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University. You will find the whole stuff very useful. Regarding your question, you will find it's answer in section 3.4 of this document!

Wow. If any of the information carries over to grad school in math, it's the most informative document I've seen on the subject, especially the part on personal statements.

Vanadium 50 said:
Yes.

This "you must be published" is a myth.