Applied or Pure Math for Future Teacher?

In summary, a community college student is seeking to transfer by the end of the upcoming spring semester with the goal of becoming a high school teacher or community college professor in math. They have recently discovered the difference between pure and applied math and are torn between the two, as they enjoy the real-world applications of math but also see the importance of understanding pure math concepts. They are seeking opinions on whether to major in both or focus on one. They are also looking for recommendations for liberal arts colleges with strong math programs. Some advice is given to focus on pure math for teaching at a university level, but also take some physics courses to understand the applications. There is a warning about the difficulty and abstractness of pure math, with recommendations for books on
Eurydice19
Hi everyone!

Thank you clicking on this thread.

I am a community college student seeking to transfer by the end of this upcoming spring semester.
I plan to major in math; my main goal is to become a high school teacher or community college professor.

Only recently did I find out that there's a pure math track and applied math track. I already have a good idea of the difference between the two. My problem is, it seems I would enjoy applied math. Once I discovered how math can describe or be applied in the real world, it became a beautiful subject to me. Because I want to be a full-time teacher, I figured it'd also be neat to share applications with students so they also can learn to appreciate mathematics (because we all know many students fail to see why we need to learn math beyond the algebra level).

Even so, I do realize the importance of some pure math courses and the need to understand and be able to do proofs.