Applied Math: A Math Major's Struggle with a New Course

In summary, the conversation discusses the role of applied mathematics and its relation to pure mathematics. The speaker expresses difficulty in understanding homework for an intro to applied math course and compares it to their previous experience in calculus and differential equations. There is a discussion about the importance of applications in mathematics and the lack of a Nobel Prize for mathematics. It is also mentioned that there is now an Abel Prize for Mathematics. The conversation highlights the importance and relevance of pure mathematics in various fields, despite not always having a direct application.
born_of_fire
Hi all, my first post here. I am majoring in pure math, but have to take a course this semester called "intro to applied math". A sample of the homework is http://www4.ncsu.edu/eos/users/w/white/www/white/ma325/HThw2.pdf. I stared at this for two hours and had no clue how to find the solutions (first parts of both problems). This assignment was due today, and I had nothing to hand in, just to give you an idea of how poorly I am performing so far. I had an A or A+ over three semesters of calculus, and most recently an A- in diff. eq. My understanding of math usually comes quicker to me than it does for many of the engineering and csc types who were also in those classes, so I rarely expect a homework situation like the one I just described. The material covered in this course is, so far, much different than what I would expect from a traditional math course. Have others noticed this difference? Is applied math really closer to being some branch of engineering?

Mathematics news on Phys.org