Applications of integration: Area and boundaries? (can't understand so

In summary, the problem at hand is to calculate the center of gravity bounded by the two axes and the graph of a given function. After plotting the graph, it becomes clear that the area in question is a triangle with known coordinates. This allows for the boundaries to be determined and the problem to be solved using known equations for center of gravity.
Poppietje
Hey! I'm a complete newbie to integral calculus (and well, to math in general - but I'm trying to learn!) and I have a bit of a problem. I already get the feeling that the solution is ridiculously simple, but my brain just isn't making the connection.

Homework Statement

Given are two functions: f(x) = 2x√x and g(x) = -2x + 24 that intersect at points (4, 16)
Problem: Calculate the center of gravity bounded by the two axes and graph of g(x).

Homework Equations

The teacher's solution gives the equation A: 1/2 * 12 * 24 = 144 and the integral boundaries are defined from 0 to 12.

The Attempt at a Solution

Well, the answer is known but my problem is that I can't figure out how it got there. I do know that if an area is bounded by a graph of a function and an axis, then one of the boundaries is set at 0... But I feel that I'm missing something very basic (which wouldn't surprise me, since my math education until now is pretty, uh, bad.)
I guess the problem is that I don't know how to actually *think* about the problem, I'm just aimlessly playing around with the numbers (16 - 4 makes 12! x is 12! Is that the boundary? Why? I don't know!)

If you could kick me in the right direction I would appreciate it a lot! ^^ Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hello Pop and welcome to PF.

You're not all that new to math: if you can count, add and subtract, that's quite a bit already!

Some general advice: if confronted with a big problem, chop it up into small pieces and start with one of them.