Anyone got these papers, or a good source?

In summary, the person is an A level student who has rarely written essays before, but now has to write two. They are struggling to find affordable access to scientific papers for research. Someone suggests using JSTOR, but the student has already tried that and found the papers to be expensive. They will continue to look for free or cheap resources.
OJFord
I'm an A level student, and one that doesn't usually write much in school other than the odd word between squiggles and numbers. (I'm studying maths, further maths, physics and electronics.)

But now I find myself in the position of writing two different essays, which should be good, as it's an opportunity to actually write something longer which could otherwise become a forgotten skill...

So my problem, I've been searching around for material to read - I should say at this point that one essay is on the history of electricity and electromagnetism, the other on British Engineering.

I've never really had the call to read any scientific papers before - I do have (and have read and understood what I could at the time) Maxwell's On Physical Lines of Force, and Newton's Principia.

But clearly those are famous, widely-celebrated works - and were not difficult for me to come across and access. I bought OPLF very cheaply from Amazon (about £1), and Principia is available for free as a .pdf.

Now, I have found and read extracts of some papers that I'd like to read for background and sources for these essays - but some of them I just can't seem to get hold of.

One in particular, 'The Diaspora of British Engineering' by Buchanan, has been especially annoying. I can only find it on one site - which wants $24 for a .pdf of the 20page article.

As a student just trying to write an essay, I both can't afford that, nor think it should have to be that way!

Is there something I'm missing? How does one both find out about, and get hold of a copy, good papers?