Any physicists / CS uncomfortable with less-explained math?

In summary, the speaker has a background in theoretical physics and has recently looked into using Green's function to solve a particle in a 2D well. They have noticed a lack of discussion on the validity of Green's function in this context. They also have similar discomfort in computer science, finding the use of simple theorems in complicated language and description. They have noticed that physicists often have a poorer understanding of mathematical concepts compared to those who have taken a math course on the same topic. The speaker is unsure if this is a common experience among physicists and computer scientists.
lucerne
I studied theoretical physics for BS, and the 5 years since I have a range of exposure to theoretical mathematics in analysis and combinatorics. Recently I looked into the notes on using Green's function to solve a particle in a 2D well. I cannot help notice how little Green's function is discussed - without justifying its validity in solving problems such as a 2D well. I remember that at the time, I knew how to solve the problem but not understood it enough to apply to it to another scenario.

I find similar discomfort in computer science. I learned search trees, sorting algorithms with great ease through proofs in applied mathematics. Recently I was taking a class on mathematics in computer science, and I was surprised that those simple theorems were casted in so complicated language and description that I was very sure if I had not taken applied combinatorics in the math department, I would be twice confused and spend more than twice the time explaining the theorems to myself.

I couldn't quench the little noise in the back of my head that whenever I am introduced to something in physics or computer science, it says "sure I trust the professor ... but I don't know why I should be convinced otherwise."