Another "should I go to physics grad school" thread

In summary, the conversation discusses the dilemma of someone with a mathematics bachelor's degree and a minor in physics who is considering going to physics grad school after finishing an electrical engineering degree. They express concerns about the job market for physics PhDs and the potential for having to return to their current position. They also mention their interest in condensed matter and nuclear physics and the potential for engineering jobs that involve physics. The conversation concludes with a discussion about the employment statistics for physics PhDs and the potential for them to work as professional physicists in permanent positions, even in private industry.
TroyElliott
Hey everyone! So, I am in a dilemma. I have a mathematics bachelors degree with a minor in physics, but many more course than just a minor, really it is like 2-3 courses away from being a second major. Anyways, after I received my math degree and physics minor I got cold feet about going to physics grad school because of all the negative things I have been reading so currently I am back at my university as an undergrad still but now finishing up an electrical engineering degree; I think I have 3 semesters left. Long story short I am still feeling the urge to go to physics grad school and am considering applying after I finish my EE degree. I guess the dilemma is if I should go to grad school for physics but having an unknown career once it is finished or just stick with the engineering, get a job and lie to myself by saying at least it is similar to physics. Has anyone had to make this choice? by the way, I have done physics research and am currently doing an EE internship - Boring, and I am extremely fortunate to say I will have absolutely zero school debt once I get my electrical engineering degree. Maybe I just haven't explored the different job opportunities in the electrical engineering field yet, I don't know.