And the 2021 Nobel prize for Physics goes to....

In summary, the Nobel Prize for Chemistry was awarded to a biologist for their work on the greenhouse effect, and the Nobel Prize for Physics was awarded to two researchers for their work on modeling complex systems.
Physics news on Phys.org
It's a hot topic, which is getting even hotter as the years go by.

Likes Wrichik Basu, dRic2 and Hamiltonian
DennisN said:
It's a hot topic, which is getting even hotter as the years go by.
It gets hotter and hotter in both metaphorical and literal sense.

Likes DennisN
Fascinating. As a chemistry student, I predict that the 2021 Nobel Prize for Chemistry will go to a biologist.

Here's the Physics Today article:
https://physicstoday.scitation.org/journal/pto

Hopefully, people will soon leave their biaises and treat Earth physics the same way as other physics application, i.e. with objectivity.

Many years ago, I had to leave this forum because of that problem (lack of objectivity on the issue).

Likes BillTre
Blackberg said:
Many years ago, I had to leave this forum because of that problem (lack of objectivity on the issue).
Please check your PMs. Thanks.

Somehow I have problems understanding what was novel in Manabe's work:

Manabe, of Princeton University, developed a one-dimensional climate model to investigate the balance of incoming radiation from the Sun, IR from Earth, convection in the atmosphere, and the latent heat of water vapor. His 1967 framework verified that carbon dioxide was the primary source of rising global temperatures.

To me it sounds like modeling of a greenhouse effect. Trick is, as far as I am aware it was already done in 19th century. Could be his model was much more detailed, could be I am misreading the statement, could be the statement is unfortunately vague or too general, but something doesn't compute.

Likes russ_watters