Am I a 'Crackpot Sage'? The Paradox of Intelligence and Perception

• Thread starter ComradeConrad
  • Start date
In summary, the "Crackpot Sage" paradox is the contradiction that someone can possess high intelligence but also hold unconventional or irrational beliefs. This relates to perception as one's level of intelligence may influence their perception of reality. It is possible for someone to be both a "Crackpot" and a "Sage" simultaneously. This concept has been discussed for many years and can be found in various fields. To avoid being labeled as a "Crackpot," one should critically examine their beliefs, stay open-minded, and seek feedback from others.
ComradeConrad
How did you find PF?
Always knew about it
My communist friend once called me a "crackpot sage." They might be smarter than I give them credit for...

In Freeman Dyson's "Birds and Frogs" allegory, I am pure bird. I have a few STEM undergrad degrees, but blame my dyslexia for not going to grad school. In kindergarten I failed Left and Right class, yet I've been told that I was teaching all the other kids how to tie their shoes. I feel smarter than everyone and dumber than everyone in equal measure.

Likes berkeman and russ_watters
Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF!

ComradeConrad said:
How did you find PF?: Always knew about it

My communist friend once called me a "crackpot sage." They might be smarter than I give them credit for...

In Freeman Dyson's "Birds and Frogs" allegory, I am pure bird. I have a few STEM undergrad degrees, but blame my dyslexia for not going to grad school. In kindergarten I failed Left and Right class, yet I've been told that I was teaching all the other kids how to tie their shoes. I feel smarter than everyone and dumber than everyone in equal measure.

Maybe some of us are like ostriches. Wannabe birds that can't get off the ground, so we stick our heads into the ground to see what the worms are up to!

Likes ComradeConrad