Alarm circuit using conductive ink

• Engineering
  • Thread starter Nienor
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Circuit Ink
In summary: There would have to be something in the circuit that detects the ink resistance and does something with it. Sorry for my delay answering and thanks a lot for your help! We have a rather big time difference so please forgive me if I don't answer right away.
Nienor
Hello,
I am a graphic arts student attending a class of "New printing technologies", which
aims to introduce us to RFID and printed electronics in general from a designer's point of view. However, we have been assigned homework which requires knowledge of electronics and apart from the conductive ink part, is about conventional electronic circuits. We have no training in electronics and I only know how a capacitor or inductor works from high school.

Homework Statement

First, electrical conductance is being introduced to us along with its units, as G=1/R=I/V.
The problem follows. We have a conductive ink whose conductivity is proportional to ambient temperature according to formula G=kT (k is not given).
We are then asked to make a circuit which will function as a fire detector. Then we have to connect this circuit to a fire sprinkler so that it can activate it.
We can use capacitors, inductors and LEDs.

Homework Equations

Also mentioned above
G=1/R=I/V
G=kT

The Attempt at a Solution

I imagine that when there is not a fire, ie when conductivity is below a specific threshold, I
need to isolate the led/sprinkler from the rest of the circuit. When conductivity reaches the