Accelerated Honors vs Normal Calculus

In summary, the individual is considering retaking calculus in a more proof-based mathematics course. They received a 3.0 in Calc 1 and 2.4 in Calc 2 in high school, but did not apply themselves as much as they should have. They are also planning to take a physics and philosophy course and are determined to do well in college. It is suggested that starting over in a proof-based calculus course is a good idea, as long as the individual is willing to put in the necessary work and dedication. This approach may even help them better understand the material.
Domn
Hello everyone. I've been looking into joining my university's honors calculus course. I graduated high school with Calc 1, and Calc 2 completed, but I didn't do too well because, I didn't apply myself as much as I should have (senioritis). I received a 3.0 in Calc 1, and a 2.4 in Calc 2. Do you think it would be a good idea to start calculus over next year in a more proof based mathematics course? I will also be taking Physics 121L (first course in physics sequence), and an upper level philosophy course.

Physics news on Phys.org
I really want to do well in college, and I know that I am not the best at math, but I'm willing to put in the work.It is certainly possible to start over in a more proof-based calculus course. It is important to keep in mind that any math course will require a great deal of work and dedication, as well as a good understanding of the material. That being said, if you are willing to put in the time and effort, it is certainly worth considering taking the honors calculus course. You may even find that tackling mathematics from a more proof-based approach helps you to better understand the material. Good luck!

Related to Accelerated Honors vs Normal Calculus

1. What is the difference between Accelerated Honors and Normal Calculus?