Abstract Algebra Book: Find the Best Textbook for Rigorous Understanding

In summary, the conversation revolves around finding a good abstract algebra textbook that provides both rigorous definitions and intuition on the subject. The person mentions studying abstract algebra before but not gaining the desired intuition from the chosen book. They then mention using a book on topology, which they found helpful, and ask for recommendations for an abstract algebra textbook that follows a similar style. Another person recommends Armstrong's "Groups and Symmetry," which is formal but provides intuition through a geometric approach. The conversation also briefly touches on other algebraic structures such as rings and fields, and a book by Birkhoff & Mac Lane is suggested as a good resource.
HJ Farnsworth
Hello,

A couple of years ago I studied abstract algebra from Dummit and Foote. However, I was never able to gain the intuition on the subject that I would like from that book. I want to study the subject again, and I want to use a different book this time around - one that covers a lot of ground, and gives rigorous definitions, but is otherwise fairly informal in its presentation.

I recently studied topology using Klaus Janich's "Topology" from the undergraduate texts in mathematics series. It was great, and I would like an abstract algebra equivalent to this book.

Does anyone know of an abstract algebra textbook that they would classify as being cut from the same cloth as Janich's "Topology"?

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
The book you should read is Armstrong's "Groups and Symmetry": https://www.amazon.com/dp/0387966757/?tag=pfamazon01-20
This is quite formal, but it gives a lot of intuition. It deals with group theory geometrically, which is the only way to really understand groups anyway. It only deals with groups though.

Last edited by a moderator:
Cool, thanks. It looks like that the same series, so is probably the kind of thing that I'm looking for.