About college, research, and living on your own. I

In summary, as a freshman starting college at the age of 18, there is typically no expectation for you to do research. However, you can ask your advisor about research opportunities and if you have financial support from your parents, it is best to focus on your studies and not get a job. Research opportunities may come up during your freshman year, but it is more likely to happen through connections and asking around. If you do decide to get a job, it is important to prioritize your studies and not let it distract you. Ultimately, it is important to do well in your courses as this can potentially lead to research opportunities.
gretun
I have a few questions that I need to get over my head with.

1. I am a freshman and about to start college. I am 18, when I finish my freshman years, I will be 19. I am just wondering since I am just starting first-year-physics, is there even a point in finding research? Where do I find research opportunities? Do I just go to my physics professor and ask him for a research? I personally don't mind spending my free-time on research, but are all physics major required to do a minimum hours of research?

2. My other question deals with living on my own. I was reading a thread on some college board and it says that most people (males mainly?) start living on their own and have a job by the time they are in 3rd year. I am just wondering, is that true? What kind of part-time job should I seek to balance my life? I mean what kind of part-time job would I be able to afford time and money to support myself?

Physics news on Phys.org
Most undergrads don't do research in their freshman year. You'll probably be assigned an advisor, it would be best to ask him/her about research opportunities.