A model of what makes up the physical world

In summary: Looking at your diagram, I see it is a sort of hybrid Venn diagram with no apparent intersection of space / time with the other fields. That implies there is some 'exclusion' involved, which could cause further aggro.To sum it up, I would say that your idea is too abstract for students whose preoccupations are with learning concrete facts for exams. The diagram will surely be taken as literally as the equations of motion that you write on the board and you could then have to pick up the pieces. Physics is not Philosophy.
pkc111
Hi there I am a high school science teacher and I want to present my senior classes with a model of the fundamentals of the physical world to serve as a mind map for us when we reach each topic.
I have started by creating the one below and then realized I may have left off momentum...is momentum worth mentioning as a separate bubble, or just a "mix" of matter and energy? I would really appreciate any opinions. Thanks
upload_2018-5-13_8-52-3.png

Attachments

• upload_2018-5-13_8-52-3.png
    42.5 KB · Views: 1,411
Physics news on Phys.org
This sort of grouping of ideas is very personal and you may well find it useful for yourself.
However, you may need to consider the sort of group you are teaching. Students can be very literal and spend a lot of time worrying about how to apply any such classification system to specific topics and quantities. "Where does this fit in Sir?" could be a frequent question to expect so you'd need to be ready with answers. :wink:
The Hyperphysics site uses such concept maps and you might find their ready made versions useful - (although yours is one layer higher). This maps are very handy as a practical way of checking that the content of a course has been dealt with or for a revision programme. It could be better than just a straight list.

Thank you so much Sophiecentaur.