A long nededle verus a short one

• Thread starter smott2011
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Short
In summary, the length of the needle does not have much impact on the pressure, but the internal diameter does. The smaller the diameter, the faster the flow and the lower the pressure. This is known as the Venturi effect and is caused by the friction between the fluid and the walls of the needle. The Poiseuille effect, which takes into account the viscosity of the fluid, may also play a role. To fully understand the situation, the radius and flow rates for the two needles would be needed.
smott2011
I'm a vascular access nurse for a Kindey dialysis center my question is this; when we cannulated with a 1 inch needle and run the pump at 400 we get art and venous pressures of 240 to 280. When we use the 3/5 inch needles the pressure drops to 160 to 180 what is the law of physics for this in novice terms
Stuart Mo

Physics news on Phys.org
I wouldn't say the length has much bearing on this, you'll probably find the internal diameter of the needle is different.

Giving you are pumping at a constant pressure, the smaller the internal diameter of the needle, the faster the flow through it and so the lower the pressure.

It's the venturi effect.

smott2011 said:
I'm a vascular access nurse for a Kindey dialysis center my question is this; when we cannulated with a 1 inch needle and run the pump at 400 we get art and venous pressures of 240 to 280. When we use the 3/5 inch needles the pressure drops to 160 to 180 what is the law of physics for this in novice terms
Stuart Mo

I think the Poiseuille effect is what's needed here - there is friction between the fluid and the walls of the needle.

[tex](Pi-Po)=\frac{8\mu L Q}{\pi r^4}[/tex]

where Pi and Po are the input and output pressures, L is the length of the needle, Q is the volume flow rate, r is the needle radius, and [tex]\mu[/tex] is the viscosity.