A good physics textbook with clear and concise explanations?

In summary: If you disliked the one you have, thats one thing, but its not necessary to own multiple copies of the same book.
jojoj
I'm currently in my first year in a physics with med physics degree and I find the textbook we are using not helpful (physics for Scientists and Engineers: A Strategic Approach (4th Edition) by Randall D. Knight). I find the textbook too wordy. So I am looking for a more clear and concise physics textbook any recommendations?

Physics news on Phys.org
Are you looking for replacement, supplemental or more advanced?

Replacement
Some of the standards
Halliday Resnick
Young Freedman
Serway
There is generally no reason to own different freshman physics books unless you truly hate the one you got
Be aware that there are calculus and noncalculus text versions

Supplement
Feynman Lectures (they are also online)

More advanced
Purcell Electricity and Magnetism
Kleppner and Kolenkow Introduction to Mechanics

Last edited:
Likes jojoj
caz said:
Are you looking for replacement, supplemental or more advanced?

Replacement
Some of the standards
Halliday Resnick
Young Freedman
Serway
There is generally no reason to own different freshman physics books unless you truly hate the one you got
Be aware that there are calculus and noncalculus text versions

Supplement
Feynman Lectures (they are also online)

More advanced
Purcell Electricity and Magnetism
Kleppner and Kolenkow Introduction to Mechanics

Thank you for the recommendations.

Since your prof won’t be drawing problems from them, there is no reason not to go with an older (cheaper) edition.

jojoj said:
I'm currently in my first year in a physics with med physics degree and I find the textbook we are using not helpful (physics for Scientists and Engineers: A Strategic Approach (4th Edition) by Randall D. Knight). I find the textbook too wordy. So I am looking for a more clear and concise physics textbook any recommendations?