A geometry question in Comsol (draw a semi-circle tangent to a line)

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of Comsol for drawing a Tesla valve model. The software has a "Tangent" option for 2D drawings, but its capabilities for solid mechanics and CFD are limited compared to other programs like Abaqus and Ansys. Comsol is also considered to be good for thermodynamics simulations. Its popularity is lower due to its high price and focus on less commonly simulated phenomena.
yabi
TL;DR Summary
How can draw a semi-circle tangent to a line in Comsol?
I am new to Comsol. I want to draw my model which is a Tesla valve. The geometry is little complicated and I don't know how to draw a semi-circle tangent to a line. Is it possible? I draw it in Solidworks and imported it into Comsol but it gives error and I think it is better to draw inside Comsol from scratch.

BTW the newest thread about Comsol in this forum dates back to 2015. Is Comsol outdated and has no usage these days? Why it is not among active topics?

Last edited by a moderator:
Engineering news on Phys.org
There is a „Tangent” option in Comsol’s Geometry —> Operations toolbar for 2D drawings. Just keep in mind that this software has limited capabilities when it comes to modeling and it might be easier to create geometry in CAD software and the import it to Comsol (maybe you should use different format or change the way you model parts in SolidWorks).

Comsol is not outdated. In fact, recently new version was released. It’s just quite unpopular (mostly used by universities) because of it’s high price and focus on less commonly simulated phenomena such as optics and electromagnetics. Also, its more advanced solid mechanics capabilities (such as contact) are worse than those of Abaqus or Ansys.

FEAnalyst said: