3D Surfaces - Equation Formed When Rotating a 2D Line About an Axis?

In summary, the discussion on Physics Forums involved determining the equation of the surface formed when the line x=3y is rotated about the x-axis. The solution involved converting the equation to y=1/3x and using this to find the equation of a circle in the y-z plane with radius |x/3|. This resulted in the equation y^2 + z^2 = (x^2 / 9) for a cone with two parts, or "nappes". The group also discussed the friendly atmosphere on the forum and the helpfulness of members in checking calculations.
dt_
Hi everyone, I'm pretty new to Physics Forums but it seems like a fairly friendly community. :)

Homework Statement

Determine the equation of the surface formed when the line x=3y is rotated about the x-axis.

Homework Equations

x=3y is the given line.

The Attempt at a Solution

First I write it in terms of x because it's simpler: [tex]y = \frac{1}{3} x[/tex]

The slope is 1/3, thus, and you have a diagonal line that passes through the origin in a 2-D graph with the X-Y plane.

Now, if you rotate this about the X-axis, you see you get a sort of cone. rather, two cones, one for each side of the y-axis ; these two cones have their tops(tips) facing each other.

How, though, can I determine an equation for the cone? I know there is a generic equation that involves x,y,z variables and a,b,c constants (I think it's something like.. [tex](x-a)^{2} + (y-b)^{2} = (z-c)^{2}[/tex] )

but what do I plug in for the variables and constants? I think I need to substitute [tex]\frac{x}{3}[/tex] for [tex] x [/tex] , or maybe with one of the other variables (y or z) but I'm not sure where and how.

If anyone could help me on this I would very much appreciate it. Thank you! :)

Physics news on Phys.org