2nd law and energy flows question.

In summary: Black bodies absorb and emit energy very quickly, so, in a sense yes, the energy is transferred immediately. But, the process of black body radiation does not involve any direct transfer of energy from one photon to another. Instead, the energy is transferred through the exchange of entropy between photons. The warmer object emits more entropy than the cooler object.
weza
Hello all.

As I'm a newbie here please excuse any misconceptions in my following question concerning the 2nd law of thermodynamics and heat/energy flows.

Although energy will not spontaneously flow from a colder to a warmer object - the colder object still emits IR photons toward the warmer object.
As I understand it this lower energy/freq photons are not absorbed by the warmer object (2nd law) - but what actually happens to them.

My understanding (most likely wrong) is that the lower energy photons are effectively reflected away by the warmer object?
Or are they absorbed and re-emitted immediately without transferring any energy?

Am I missing something here or is my view simply wrong?

Thanks in advance for any guidance on this.

Physics news on Phys.org
You are talking about radiation transfer of heat.
Everything is absorbing and emitting radiation.
Some things emit radiation at a greater rate than others.
In your example and all other things remaining equal, you will get more radiation emitted by the hot object than is absorbed by it so, on balance, it loses energy. Reverse for the cool object.

The result is that Heat appears to flow from the hot object to the cold one.
Note: IR photons are not the same as heat - it's just the range more readily absorbed by matter.

The situation is a tad more complicated than that but I believe that answers your question.

Thanks Simon.

I still have a little trouble with this.