2 speed controllers in parallel to drive a DC brushed motor?

In summary, a DC brushed motor is difficult to drive because its specs are unique. A suitable driver can be found, but the amperage is closer to the peak then the continuous. It is possible to put two of the same speed controllers in parallel to diffuse the current, but this would have too much back emf.
Daniel Sadlier
I am currently trying to drive a DC brushed motor, but its specs are unique enough that I haven't been able to find a suitable driver. I found one that almost fits our application but our amperage is closer to the peak then the continuous. So is it possible that I could put two of the same speed controller in parallel to diffuse the current? Or would there too much back emf?

Motor Specs:
115 V DC
20 A
3.5 HP

Driver Specs:
40-175 V DC Input/Output
12.5 A continuous
25 A peak ~2 seconds
3 kW

Thanks

Engineering news on Phys.org
I'm not an expert here, but my judgement would be no.
My understanding of DC motor control is that it is essentially voltage control. So you would have two circuits attempting to control the same voltage. Now if there is even a small difference between the values they try to maintain, once the voltage gets between the two values, then one circuit thinks the voltage is too low and increases the current, the other thinks it is too high and decreases the current. They would counteract each other.

Now your controllers may not work in this way, but it seems to me you are always likely to have a problem like this if there is any discrepancy between the two controllers. You are duplicating the decision part of the control loop and allowing possible disagreement.

What I think you need is a single controller, but some sort of amplifier to boost its power capability. I might be able to help with that if it were a much smaller motor, but my experience does not extend to kW DC motors. That sounds BIG for a DC motor!