2 masters, but 2nd one was very bad

• Other
  • Thread starter Luigi
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Masters
In summary, this person took a course in pure mathematics and physics that did not go well and they are worried about the future.
Luigi
I will explain my serious and embarrassing problem: I would really need some good advice.

I did a MSc in Theoretical Physics in a good UK university and I graduated with a distinction.
My grades were not the best of the best, but I think they were good enough to find a good PhD place.

Since I was not accepted in the universities to which I applied, I decided to try to enhance my chances for the next year by taking part III course at Cambridge. I imagined this second master as an extra in which study some interesting pure maths and physics that I had no chance to study before. (I have always been very attracted by pure maths).

Sadly it was the worst decision in my life (so far!). My exams are gone extremely bad, beyond every expectations. I am not a pure mathematician so (before the exams) I was expecting to have something like a pass in the three pure maths exams and to have a better grade in physics exams (general relativity, black holes).

But the results were fails in all pure maths exams and only a low pass for the physics exams. Probably this is due to a combination of a personally hard period and to the fact that (even if I could understand the courses in pure maths) it was too much hard for me to solve the kind of exercises that mathematicians do. And to prepare better the math exams I did not prepare physics exams properly. (This is very embarrassing since actually I am familiar with general relativity since my BSc)

I am sure that this will completely ruin my career and destroy all chances to be taken anywhere for a PhD.
Could I omit from my future applications that I have taken this course? (Since I already have a MSc) Or this would be perceived as a dishonest behaviour? What chances I really have now?