Why do I have such trouble with Engineering reading assignments?

In summary, the conversation discusses an engineering student struggling to understand material in a logic design class, specifically digital circuits. Suggestions are given, such as finding a tutor or working on example problems while taking notes, to better comprehend the material. General advice is also given to slow down and engage more with the content, possibly by drawing or working out example problems. The conversation ends with a question about understanding the differences between analog and digital circuits and the importance of hard work in understanding difficult subjects.
royzizzle
I'm a third year engineering student and recently I've been unable to complete any of my reading assignments for a logic design class.

Mainly this is because I simply can't understand the material I am reading. After I read a paragraph, it's almost like I never read anything because I am unable to paraphrase what I have just read.

Does anyone have tips on how to understand digital circuits?

Physics news on Phys.org
Try finding a tutor (or a strong student) to explain the concepts to you?

Are there example problems or homework problems you can work as you read... possibly even programming these out on matlab/mathematica/maple?

Also: as you read, you can take notes on important components as they are introduced, noting the inputs/output from the components... maybe making up a chart/table with the name of the component, the symbol, and the input/output results.

I find doing something tactile (suc as taking notes or working problems) when reading something important helps solidify the material.

I'm not familiar with digital circuits, but I feel some general advice might help.

It may be that you just need to slow down. Reading technical information is not to be done in the same manner as one would read literature. You need to take your time and concentrate on what it is that you're reading.