Which Graduate Program in Theoretical Physics is Right for Me?

In summary, the individual is currently studying theoretical physics and considering the International Center for Theoretical Physics and the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics as potential graduate programs. They are also interested in top universities such as Oxford, Harvard, and Caltech, but feel they need to improve their skills before applying. The conversation also touches on finding a specific problem to work on and potential PhD supervisors.
Ignatius Sebastian
Hello. I'm currently studying theoretical physics and planning to continue my study in theoretical physics. I know that there are two interesting places to pursue the education in this field, the International Center for Theoretical Physics (pre-PhD program), and the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics (Perimeter's master program). Which one is better? I'm an undergraduate student. Thank you for your answers!

Likes K Murty
Physics news on Phys.org
You don't like Oxford, Harvard, Caltech?

mitchell porter said:
You don't like Oxford, Harvard, Caltech?
Well, I do interested to continue my education there, but I'm afraid my skill is not enough, so I think I need to improve my skill in theoretical physics before I go there. And those institute offer a preparation to enter the theoretical physics world. Or do you have any advice for me?

No advice from me, I don't know these elite institutions.

I think you're looking at the problem backwards. Something like "theoretical physics" is extremely broad and therefore difficult for people to offer general advice on.