Which degree for Materials Science?

In summary, the conversation revolves around the topic of studying materials science and engineering, particularly focusing on hard materials and their applications. The person is currently a chemical engineering student but is considering switching to mechanical engineering in order to have a better understanding of solid materials. They are seeking advice on whether a chemical engineering degree can lead to a career in materials science and if it is necessary to switch majors. The conversation also touches on the study of soft materials and their applications.
cytochrome
I'm currently a chemical engineering student and I have a huge interest in materials science, probably more so hard materials than soft materials (which is why I feel chemical engineering is a bad choice).

Can I get into the field of materials science via a chemical engineering degree? Ideally I'd like to go to graduate school for Materials Science and Engineering but I'm afraid my chemical engineering background will be laughed at because we mostly do applied thermodynamics to solutions.

I could also change my major to Mechanical Engineering (materials science would take too long to complete since my school does not offer MSE summer classes) and therefore be more adept at solid materials. I don't know...

I'm lost. Can someone give advice as to whether or not a chemical engineer could get involved in the materials science field? Particularly studying mechanics of materials and rational materials design? Or should I change to mechanical engineering?

Physics news on Phys.org