What Should I Major In? Exploring My Options in Computer Science and Mathematics

• Programs
  • Thread starter ironman1478
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Major
In summary, if you want to study graphics or mathematics for graduate studies, you should do both a standard CS degree and a standard math degree. You should also do some demo work in graphics and programming to get started.
ironman1478
Hello physicsforums,
I am a freshman in college and i am actually kind of confused about what i should be majoring in. I am currently in the CS department at USC and i really like it, but i feel like i might be taking the wrong path to where i want to go. I want to study graphics, securities, or combinatorics (which seems to be closely tied with securities) for graduate studies, but when i look at the progress that has been made in these fields, it seems to be driven my mathematicians and not necessarily computer scientists (i might be wrong in this assumption). I am wondering whether or not i should switch my major to to mathematics, go for a hybrid computational and applied mathematics degree, or stay in the CS department. its not too late to switch my major now since the math degree and cs degree sort of start out the same (they both require foreign language, same gen eds, same initial math classes, and same science class options). Thanx in advance and i hope you guys can help me out a bit.

Physics news on Phys.org
ironman1478 said:
Hello physicsforums,