What is a readable intro text for electronic materials (material science)?

In summary, the conversation is about a search for a good introductory book on material science, specifically electronic materials, for a Physics major in their sophomore year. A suggested book is available on Amazon with a CD containing additional solved exercises, but it may not be on par with other texts in solid state physics. The person had to use a newer version of a textbook written by a professor at their university and did not like it due to its lack of mathematical explanations and proofs.
Ashuron
As the title,

Anyone know any good readable intro book of material science, especially dealing with electronic materials(semiconductors,etc.)?

I am a Physics major in sophomore year..
I took Calc 1-3, linear algebra, ODE and some intro EM and modern physics

Physics news on Phys.org
You can probably have a look at:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/0071244581/?tag=pfamazon01-20

The accompanying CD contains additional solved exercises.Edit: I just read that you're a physics major, this book is really introductory and doesn't go deep, it isn't on par with any of the texts in solid state physics.

Last edited by a moderator:
well, it's ok I guess..
I only need an intro book for some research project

I had to use the newer version of Kasap (who is a professor at my university), and I really did not like the textbook. There is a lot information, but the math is severely lacking, along with proofs.

, so I have some background..