What are the key factors for admission to top physics PhD programs like MIT?

In summary: I also want to emphasize that I am not giving up on getting into MIT, as it is still my ultimate goal.In summary, this rising sophomore is aiming for a 4.0 GPA, 900+ PGRE, and 5 graduate courses. He is confident that he could achieve this if he worked hard, but is worried about admission into MIT. He is considering an REU at MIT next summer, and is also involved in our chapter of SPS. He is planning to apply for an REU next year, but is unsure if the research groups he is interested in are participating.
Fine-man
Hi guys, wassup? I am a physics undergraduate motivated to get into top graduate programs, namely MIT. It is not its name or prestige (only a small amount!) which attracts me to it, but the experience I desire, that is, to immerse myself to an environment, surrounded by other students of diverse backgrounds of same passion that brings us to the same place, together discussing and doing research, headbutting against the wall doing problems in classes taught by professors I admired for their research or teachings. It'd be silly of course if those were my only reasons: they also have many groups doing cutting-edge research on field of my interest (quantum information).

My aims are: a 4.0 in major GPA, 900+ PGRE, and 5 graduate courses. As of research, I have done a semester of experimental semiconductor physics, and am looking to join a group in quantum transport simulation. I am graduating in 3 years, but if I do not get accepted, I can stay for another year to do more research (this will not be a problem financially, as I will have scholarship/financial aid for 4 years).

I am also actively involved in our chapter of SPS as an officer, and have done a lot of volunteering in high school. I will have a very "good" (whatever this means) statement of purpose essay, as I have a lot to say about my strengths, experiences, and goals.