Welcome Shawn! Learning Math & Physics for Meteorology

In summary: Welcome. It will be worth the effort.Welcome. You will find plenty of help here.Welcome Shawn! You are going to love it here.
Shawn Gossman
Howdy all,

My name is Shawn! I am the newbie (at the moment) on this forum and to Math and Physics. I am 24 years of age (25 in six days) and I live in southern Illinois, USA. My current employment is coal mining.

I would like to learn math and physics. I own various Meteorology forums and for a love of forum administration, I thought I would go ahead and turn to a forum for help with math and so forth, and this one caught my attention.

For many years I have had an extreme passion for Meteorology and Climate interests. I am a long time storm chaser and SKYWARN storm spotter. I was going to college for Criminal Justice to be a cop but I have lost interest in it. I really really really want to go to school for Meteorology but I am not good at math, so I figured if I put my mind to it and tried hard, I can learn it easily because I'd love to go into Meteorology as a career.

Thank you for having me and I hope to learn a lot here :D

Kind Regards,
Shawn Gossman

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF Shawn! You're right that it's a lot easier to learn a subject when you're really interested in it and have a goal in sight. And you'll find plenty of help around PF as you work toward that goal.

Welcome to PF, Shawn. You will find plenty of help here.

Shawn Gossman said:
I am a long time storm chaser and SKYWARN storm spotter.

If you have any good storm-chaser photos, please feel free to share. :-p

Hi Shawn, nice to have you here.

Welcome. You'll like it here, everybody is extremely helpful.

Welcome and ditto on the storm-photos.

Welcome aboard, Shawn.
I'm afraid that I won't be of any help to you, since the only meteorology that I studied was when I was flying. That was 36 years ago, so I've obviously forgotten everything that I knew then. :frown: